Trade News

Cape Verde Expands Visa Exemption

As of 1 January 2019, the list of countries exempted from requiring a tourist visa to enter Cape Verde has been extended to include most European countries.

Visitors travelling from countries belonging to the European Union (including the UK) plus Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein will no longer be required to obtain a visitor visa on entry, and it is expected to extend to Monaco, San Marino, and Andorra.

According to the official Boavista Cape Verde website, the lost revenue from visa fees will be complemented by a new airport tax of 3,400 escudos, with citizens of Cape Verde and foreign residents exempt from paying.

The visa waiver will allow stays of a maximum of 30 days, after which visitors must apply for a visa for the remainder of their stay.

Visitors must still have a valid passport for at least 6 months after entry, and register with the Cape Verdiano authorities on the EASE website prior to arrival.

The move is designed to stimulate more interest in Cape Verde as a holiday destination and increase competitiveness in the tourism industry.

Related Articles

Back to top button