Trade News

Durban ICC voted the best in Africa for the 12th time

The Durban International Convention Centre has done it again!
The Centre has been acknowledged by the prestigious World Travel Awards as Africa’s Leading Meetings and Conference Centre for the twelfth time. The Durban ICC took top honours amongst nominees which included the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the Kenyatta International Convention Centre, Cairo International Convention Centre, and the Sandton Convention Centre.

Widely regarded as “the Oscars of the travel industry” these awards have stood unrivalled as the ultimate hallmark of quality in the global hospitality, travel and tourism industry. Now in its twentieth year, the World Travel Awards are recognised as the most esteemed and comprehensive awards programme across all sectors of the industry.

A delighted Julie-May Ellingson, Chief Executive Officer of the Durban ICC, commented, “We are thrilled that the Durban ICC has been honoured with this title once again. Receiving this award for the twelfth time is a remarkable achievement and a major endorsement of our world-class facilities and the service excellence we strive to deliver.”

The international awards programme tracks hundreds of thousands of votes cast each year by travel professionals from over 200 countries. The winners of the African segment were announced at a dazzling Gala Dinner at the Safari Park Hotel and Casio in Nairobi on Wednesday evening, 16th October.

“My sincere appreciation is extended to all participants, clients and stakeholders who cast their votes in this year’s contest and rated us the best in Africa. I am also deeply grateful to our team whose hard work and commitment has ensured we have maintained our top position once again. This acknowledgement is a great motivation for our team and will spur us on to even greater heights in the future”, added Ellingson.

The Durban ICC has also been nominated as the World’s Leading Meetings & Conference Centre. The official online voting for this title runs from the 17th October until the 10th November 2013, and the winner will be announced at the end of November. Votes can be cast by travel, tourism and hospitality professionals and the consumer traveller at

Related Articles

Back to top button