Trade News

Another five SA visa centers to open in China

The Chinese government has approved an additional five South African visa centres in China, which will open during 2016, according to Bradley Brouwer, SA Tourism President: Asia Pacific.

Brouwer said the visa centres will open in Shenyang, Xi’an, Wuhan, Jinan and Hangzhou, bringing the total to nine visa centres. In late August 2015, two visa centres were opened in Chengdu and Guangzhou.

The Department of Home Affairs (DHA) spokesperson, Mayihlome Tshwete, said the DHA is awaiting the final timeline for the roll-out of the five new centres from VFS, but confirmed that they will open this year.

There are currently five South African visa centres open in the US, which means that China will now succeed this number, confirmed Tshwete.

Welcoming the news, Brouwer said: “This will give Chinese applicants ease of access to apply for visas to South Africa. The distribution of these centres will help cover most of China geographically and this will also enhance our relationship with the trade, tourists, business people and MICE sectors across China.”

Related Articles

Back to top button