Trade News

2017 Kudu Awards Deadline Extended

The 2017 Kudu Awards deadline has been extended to 23 October 2017. The event organized by South African National Parks (SANParks) in partnership with First National Bank (FNB) and Total South Africa is the ultimate Conservation recognition awards in the country. 

SANParks Head of Communications, Janine Raftopoulos says that this year’s Kudu Awards are going to be an exciting event not to be missed. Key business objectives for SANParks are to ensure improved, representative conservation assets, an effectively managed eco-system, species and cultural heritage assets, optimised contribution to the green and blue economy and enhanced awareness of the work that we do. To this end, the Kudu Awards will be honouring and celebrating individuals and institutions who go to any great lengths to conserve and protect our natural environment as well as the associated cultural and heritage assets for future generations.

The Kudu Awards is an initiative by SANParks that aims to recognise external stakeholders for their contributions and efforts in making it the custodian of choice for the national parks system in South Africa. “The Kudu Awards are one of the best conservation awards programmes in the country in which organizations, individuals as well as community groups enter to showcase their work around environment and conservation of natural resources,” says Raftopoulos.

“All the winners receive financial rewards as well as widespread media exposure which gives them a definite competitive edge to their peers, particularly around their passion for national parks.  Everyone wants to be recognised as the best in the conservation of our biodiversity and this is your opportunity to prove yourself as such.”

 The awards consist of different categories as follows:

• Non-Governmental Organisations
• Media Contribution to Conservation and Eco-Tourism
• Community Contribution to Conservation
• Environmental Education
• Individual Contribution to Conservation
• Professional Stakeholders
• Associated Partners
• Women in Conservation
• Youth in Conservation
• Innovation.

 The final date for entries is Monday 23 October 2017.

Entry forms can be obtained from or download the nomination form here.

For more information contact Itshekeng Lamola on 012 426 5058 or e-mail [email protected].

The award winners will be announced at a function in Gauteng in November.

Related Articles

Back to top button