2019 Wine and Food Tourism Awardees Announced

Cape Town, 18 September 2019 – South Africa’s top wine and food tourism providers were named honourees in the inaugural Wine & Food Tourism Awards at the close of this year’s Wine and Food Tourism Conference held at Spier near Stellenbosch today. The nine awardees were presented with their trophies by Blacky Komani, chairperson of the Tourism Business Council of South Africa (TBCSA).

Drawn from Stellenbosch, Paarl, Franschhoek, the Overberg, the West Coast and the Karoo to include a mix of well-established favourites and hidden gems, they were chosen for having created outstanding and positively memorable tourist experiences that are an inspiration to others in the industry.

According to tourism doyenne Margi Biggs, who convened the judging panel of wine, hospitality and marketing specialists, the nine honourees were selected from exceptionally strong contenders across the spectrum – from those offering wine tastings and wine and food pairings to fully-fledged restaurants and accommodation.  The panel was chaired by Jean-Pierre Rossouw, publisher of Rossouw’s Restaurants and the Platter’s South African Wine Guide.

Margi Biggs

Said Biggs: “We were delighted by the calibre of entries in this, the first year of our awards. We hope they serve to provide a benchmark to which the growing number of participants in the industry can aspire to and, in this way encourage the numerous businesses in this tourism sector to better their efforts.”

She explained that the awards had been established to help boost wine and food tourism confidence and advance service standards and training. Tourism is one of this country’s highest labour-absorbing sectors. “They support the goals of the Tourism Business Council of SA’s strategy to double the number of international tourists by 2030 and so create around 2 million jobs directly and indirectly. Wine and food tourism, especially, has the potential to contribute to this goal.”

The panel honoured the best of three contenders in each of three categories: Service Excellence that goes to the very heart of the experience at a person-to-person level; The Authentic South African Experience that focuses on uniquely South African people, places and moments; and Innovation that boosts experiences, excites and delights guests, while allowing them new offerings.

“That the group of nine included both veterans and newbies is very encouraging. It reflects the ability of our well-established tourism providers to refresh, renew and remain relevant, while at the same time showing that there are newer players capable of competing to the highest standards,” said Biggs.

The honourees are:

Service Excellence

Wine and Food Tourism Service Excellence Awardees
Chris Thomson (Waterford Estate), Vida Basson (Delaire Graff Estate), Conrad Meyer (Leeu Collection) and Roger Boonzaaier (Leeu Collection).

Authentic South African Experience

WFTA2019 Authentic South African Experience Honourees
Mareli Roux (La Motte), Lisa Ker (Die Tuishuise & Victoria Manor) and Sasha van Zyl (Grootbos Private Nature Reserve).


WFTA2019 Innovation Honourees
Suné Strydom (Spice Route Destination), Abigail Bisogno (Spice Route Destination), Jan van Zyl (Fryer’s Cove), Salomé Geldenhuys (Creation Wines) and Ruben Saul (Fryer’s Cove).

The judges were:

Food and Wine Tourism Awards Judges
Service Excellence award judges; Horst Frehse (tourism and hospitality consultant), Gwynneth Matthews (conference specialist), and André Morgenthal (wine marketing and communication consultant).
Steve Massey, Mac Mabidilala and Sheryl Ozinsky
Innovation award category judges: Steve Massey (marketing thought leader), Mac Mabidilala (marketing specialist), and Sheryl Ozinsky (co-founder of the Oranjezicht City Farm and tourism specialist).
Food and Wine Tourism Awards Judges
The Authentic South African Experience Award judges: Judy Brower ( founder and owner), Janet Pillai (hospitality entrepreneur), and
Su Birch (wine marketing specialist).

Related Articles

Back to top button